Meet Jeff: the helper

One of our job seekers, Jeff, presented the following speech about volunteer work in our employment skills workshop last week:

 

Hello. My name is Jeff, and I am a helper.

As a helper, I like to find ways to help people who need it.

My favorite volunteer experiences are the ones where I can do things that are useful.

 

Recently I was asked to help out around Lifetime Networks by organizing the art supplies on Tuesdays before the employment workshop.

This makes the space nicer for everyone to use. It is cleaner, and art supplies are easier to find.

I agreed to do this because I like to be helpful around the Lifetime Networks office.

I also agreed because I enjoy sorting and organizing things.

In the past I have volunteered at a thrift store doing sorting.

I found it hard to sort the clothing, but I really enjoyed sorting the other items.

It was fun to see all the different things that got donated.

 

I have also done a lot of volunteering in Being a Citizen.

One of my favorite jobs was getting rid of blackberry.

Blackberry is a really invasive species.

It grows everywhere and doesn’t leave room for other plants to grow.

It feels good to help remove it, because it is bad for the environment.

Although the berries are delicious!

 

For me, volunteering is a great way to get work experience.

It is also a good way to meet new people.

But the main thing I like about volunteering is getting to be helpful.

If you are looking for experience or trying to find a job, I suggest you try volunteering.

 

thumbnail_img_20161003_151440184
The art supply closet that Jeff helps to keep organized at Lifetime Networks
environment-studies-jeff-cropped
Jeff always stops to help – no matter how small the job!
Leave a Reply

